BPM - How to know the exact bpm in a track

Wilde

Hi guys - hope it is ok to post this here. Ok, I am a musician and I know the bpm of my drum tracks cuz I create them myself or I use EZ drummer which also tells me the bpm - but my doubt is - if I have song 4/4 at 100 bpm and then a couple of short breaks keeping the tempo but playing with the interplay of bass drum and snare - and the tempo of my recording session in my DAW is 100 bpm, should the BPM not read 100? The other day I was uploading stuff to a site and out of sheer curiosity I used Abyss Media BPM counter and the reading was different - it told me 133,34 - can be this right?

Or if a song is 120 bpm and then it has a couple of slower drum parts - would the overall bpm of the tune not be affected?

Thanks

I wouldn't trust a auto- beat detector app to determine bpm. Especially when you set it your self in your DAW.

I think your curious adventure discovered that the Abyss Media app doesn't work very well.

I have used a beat detector in the past for some EDM experiments I was doing. They do a pretty good job for the most part, but they are approximate. If you listen to old analog recordings, there is drift, either from the musicians or my understanding is, tape stretch drifting.

They are just give you the average based on the beats it detects.

Pro Tools has a nifty "Identify Beat" feature that'll tell you the exact tempo of a song based on a selection.

It's a bloody GODSEND when all those rappers with stereo .mp3 files of beats they downloaded come in and they're like, "I dunno, what's tempo?"

If there's any variation in your tempo then an automatic tempo detector won't know what to do.
Basically it'll make an educated guess that will, inevitably, be wrong.

Something like beat detective, I think, maps out hit points or down beats, so it should be able to track variable tempos and map them out for you.