Is the Blue Spark Digital any good?

AlbanAnimation

Im new the sound recording, I want to start a youtube channel, but I am laking a good microphone. I have a budget of 200 dollars and I was thinking of getting a blue spark. But where I live, they are hard to find. I still managed to find a blue spark digital and was thinking of buying it, but unlike the regular blue spark, it is a usb microphone instead of XLR. Is it still good? If not, what microphone would you recommend?

You might want to give us more information about your setup and more detail about just what you are going to be presenting on your YouTube channel.

Im starting a basic animation channel, so I will use the mic for voice overs. What other info should I give. (P.S) I do not have a Mic, pre amp, or interface right now.

You would not be able to use the standard Blue Spark mic without an interface, so the 'digital' model (I assume you mean the USB model) would at least get you started.

I have no experience with the Blue Spark Digital, but of the reviews I looked at, most were favorable and probably a good choice on your budget. While you're hanging around on this forum it might be a good idea to find some of the threads on 'room treatment' which can help reduce the echoes of your voice bouncing around the room you record in. If you have questions about room treatment, don't hesitate to ask rather than building something that may not work well.

I advise caution and a great deal of investigation. The Video and Audio world and PCs does not seem to play well together UNLESS you get hard and software specifically designed to do that. E.g. you might NOT be able to route the USB mic signal to the pictures.

People come to the Newb section with expectations of doing just music recording on a shoestring, a USB mic is a fair but not ideal way to do that but add in the complication of video and you are probably looking at needing BOOTlaces, belt, braces and a thick rope!