Best Home studio Equip..

StudioNewBee

Ok guys,
I am new to the studio side of music if you cant tell by my login. :confused: This is my issue... I am trying to start my own home studio to get into the recording side of things. I am deployed in Kuwait and currently learning Pro Tools from watching another Soldier use the program. I have also heard that Sonar was good equip. to use. I was a music major in college so I have a good understanding of what to do but I need to know whats best for my buck... I am looking at the Digidesign Mbox 2 Mini Recording Bundle located on the MusiciansFriend website and that is pretty much what this other guy is using. I currently use Fruityloops for making the instrumentas now and want to buy a synth later that will make it easier to record background cords. Before I go out and buy it I thought I would consult others that knew a little more about recording. Any info can help. Thanks a bunch for everything!

The Mbox2 mini that youre talking about should give you a good starting point for your homestudio. As you probably know it comes with pro tools like your friend is using. Maybe you have or haven't seen but it comes with a few programs to create virtual instruments which it seems that you might be interested in. This will give you a good foundation in which you can start making songs.

But if are interested more in using the virtual instruments, you could buy the Mbox 2 (not mini). This would give you MIDI inputs so that you could add a midi controller to write your music. If your keyboard synth didn't have midi control then you are stuck with the presets on your keyboard. Hopefully this is fairly clear to understand..

Hope everything is going well for you. I'll answer your questions the best I can. Good luck. Eric.

Thanks for the help!