best digital recorder

steelguitargary

hi everyone i've been playing music for 35 years and was thinking off building a small home studio wanted to ask the experience people here what would be the best digital recorder with cd burner
looking for good product that is exspandble i'was thinking of the yamaha o2r or the roland 2400 or 2480 or the korg d3200 and the ability to patch outboard effects and outboard hard drive
let me know what you think or if you know of a recorder other than these 3 that would work well

thanks gary

First question is always: what is your budget? Second one is 'why aren't you thinking of using a computer, rather than a stand-alone recorder?

hi everyone i've been playing music for 35 years and was thinking off building a small home studio wanted to ask the experience people here what would be the best digital recorder with cd burner
looking for good product that is exspandble i'was thinking of the yamaha o2r or the roland 2400 or 2480 or the korg d3200 and the ability to patch outboard effects and outboard hard drive
let me know what you think or if you know of a recorder other than these 3 that would work well

thanks gary

I got out of home recording 20 years ago when it was still magnetic tape (I used a Tascam 8 channel reel to reel).
Just recently dived back in and it seems to me that one of the most flexible ways to go nowadays is a very fast computer with two hard drives, a usb (or firewire) hardware interface and some DAW software. This way your hardware won't be obsolete nearly so fast and you can upgrade your studio as desired. It also offers a great deal in terms of flexibility for effects, plug-ins, etc. (you aren't constrained by the physical limitations of your recorder).

Bill