Best Budget Home Recording Set-up with $500

Srleblanc2008

Hello everyone. I am completely new to home recording and have recently purchased the book for dummies on recording. I was just wondering in your guy's opinion what woul dbe the best way to go for $500. I will be recording with an acoustic and an electric guitar, vocals, keyboard and harmonica, at some point drums maybe, but that can come later. I am mostly focused on the guitar, keyboard, and vocals. I will be running it off of my laptop and out of my apartment. Thanks for everyone who helps.

Last edited:
Way too many choices really. You should research the available software programs out there and hardware to get the audio in/out of the laptop and the pricing for your budget.
Once you have narrowed down to something that interests you, come back and ask for opinions to help you select.
I could say "you should get this" but then 10 others will recommend something else.
Look for products that have been proven and reliable which are mentioned throughout the forum.

Way too many choices really. I could say "you should get this" but then 10 others will recommend something else.
Look for products that have been proven and reliable which are mentioned throughout the forum.

+1 to that!

What are your laptop specs? (i.e. Is is realistic to utilize your existing computer for recording??)
Mac or PC?
What's your objective? (e.g. demo, thinespace, CD's to sell at shows, radio?)
What existing equipment do you have, if any?

I am in a situation similar to the OP.

I have been researching the various aspects of setting up home recording equipment for the last couple of weeks, and there is so, so, so, so MUCH - that just getting started is pretty overwhelming.

I've read about interfaces, monitors, headphones, preamps, mics, and a lot of stuff in between.

I'll give a run-down of my current plan and maybe someone can tell me if I'm on the right track, or point me in the right direction from here.