basic software?

pma5000

As a complete novice I hoping that one of you guys "in the know" will be able to advice me on what software to use. Unlike a lot of people I generally like a few tracks on a cd and detest the rest. I therefore need to compile a library of fav tracks on the computer and then rip to cd. In addition it would be helpful to be able to fade in and out with the volume as I would like to cut short some recordings. Is it to much to expect a novice like me to be able to overrun tracks as they do with "Trance"? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

For once I can suggest Audacity as just about all you will need, it is an audio editor.

One slight snag, Audacity does not save as .wav and although there is a 'bolt on' MP3 encoder I could never get it to work (bit of a pc numpty, better wit valves). For a really good MP3 (and almost everything else!) encoder MAGIX Samplitude Pro X Silver is free forever...OR! I you really want to splash out the £114 offer of Pro X 3, plus the really nice editor Soundforge 11 is still running until Dec 20 I believe?

Dave.

At the moment Magix are doing a special promotion deal for Samplitude, Sound Forge, Spectral Layers Pro and iZotope.

Normally costs over £1,000 / $1,300 and available for just £114.99 / $149.00 - this is a stupidly low price for such amazing software.

You get:-
12 discs:
01)Samplitude Pro X3 Suite with serial numbers for Pro X3 Suite and Melodyne 4 essential
02) Independence Content Library 1
03) Independence Content Library 2
04) Independence Content Library 3
05) Independence Content Library 4
06) Independence Content Library 5
07) Independence Content Library 6
08) Independence Content Library 7
09) Independence Content Library 8
10) Independence Content Library 9
11) Samplitude Pro X3 Suite - Content DVD, Sounds & Loops
12) Sound Forge Pro 11 with serial numbers for Sound Forge Pro 11, iZotope Nectar Elements and iZotope Mastering & Repair Suite