Balancing Input, Track & Master Levels

mrbozo

I'm using a tascam dp008 all-in-one (record, mix, master) device and would like some advice on adjusting levels.

My input level is set to max and it doesn't peak.
My track, the only track, is set to max and it doesn't peak.
But my master level which is also set to max does peak. It only stops peaking when I have it at 2/3 or less. Why is this? What is the point of having that extra 1/3 if you can never use it?

Of course, I am a noob and there is probably an easy explanation for this, so if anyone has any insight or advice as to how to balance these 3 knobs, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

I'm using a tascam dp008 all-in-one (record, mix, master) device and would like some advice on adjusting levels.

But my master level which is also set to max does peak. It only stops peaking when I have it at 2/3 or less. Why is this? What is the point of having that extra 1/3 if you can never use it?

Of course, I am a noob and there is probably an easy explanation for this, so if anyone has any insight or advice as to how to balance these 3 knobs, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Sometimes these type pf devices has an AGC/Limiter ( automatic gain control) built in. You may be able to defeat it by searching thru the menu..Good luck..

Firstly, it's not a good idea to have any of your levels that record at max. It's not such a problem if your monitor levels {ie, volume} are at max because that's down to your ears and doesn't affect the recording level. But the input and master levels do affect the eventual recorded sound. Unless you deliberately want a distorted, overdriven sound, try to avoid this.