Balanced / Unbalanced.......

Frankie

So, I got this question for you pros.
I got balanced cabels from my speakers to the amp. And balanced from the amp to my mixer, but then I realized that my mixer's
balanced output is XLR and not jack...,so for now I'm using the unbalanced output. Does this make a lot of difference??? What is the difference of balanced/unbalanced anyway?? ;)

Frankie

Yo Frankie:

I'm not a PRO either; however, it seems that the balanced plugs, the three-prong dealies, give better results, especially when using a mic for a vocal; I can't give you the technical reasons but I've seen the answer on this forum given by Ed or SN##.

The 1/4 inch jack plugs are kind of universal; they are used for many, many ins/outs and are known as unbalanced plugs.

I get good results from both types; if you check out this forum and the right places, you will get your "technical" answer for sure.

Green Hornet

Boy! Bob sure is right about better results. I know when I hook up a mic balanced it's much clearer and more powerful without the volume having to be cranked up. Anytime I can go Balanced I do. And I will until I have a problem with it. Then I'll come to this forum and ask one these recording God's, " WHAT THE F*@# DID I DO!" Good Luck Man!, T. :D ;)

First of all, I have never seen a speaker that required a Balanced cable. A speaker has a Hot (+) and Negative (-) connection. Speaker wire and audio wire are two totally different things, and should never be used for the other. Buy thick speaker wire for amp to speaker connections.

As to running balanced vs. unbalanced from the mixer to the amp, this is for more objective. If the distance from your mixer to your amp is less then about 20 feet, it will make little difference, IF, you do not have RFI interference going on in your studio.

Unbalanced cables are 2 conductor, a Hot (+) and a Ground. The ground is wrapped around the Hot lead and acts as a shield too.