Audio interfaces with headphones output

Poldo

Sorry, not sure whether this hasn't been posted or is just awaiting moderation, so I will post it again:

Hi! Another newbie here, with a very simple question:

Would a digital audio interface with a headphones output allow me to hear what I am playing regardless of what happens in the laptop I plug it in?

(I am talking about things like :
- Focusrite iTrack Solo Lightning
- Focusrite Scarlett Solo
- Boehringer Ucg102 )

The reason why I am asking, i.e. what I need to do:

I need to record one single bass line track on my Windows laptop, and I am currentrly trying to do it through Audacity. Now, so far I haven;t been able to do that without hearing latency while playing and recording at the same time.

I worked out how to solve RECORDING latency issues on Audacity (which is irrelevant to me, as for the moment I don't need to do multitrack recording), but not HEARING latency issues while playing and recording. (I pluck a string of my bass and I hear the sound half a second later at the best)

So, I thought "If I can get a DI which makes me hear what I am playing exactly at the time I am playing , without going into the laptop and back, I am sorted"
At the moment I use an Apogee Jam 96k, which hasn;t got a headphones output, so I cannot do that

Many thanks in advacne for your help!

Why O why do newbs SPEND first then ASK here arterward! Poldo, for LESS than you paid for the jamjack you could have bought the Alesis i02 Express interface.
Now, I had one for a few weeks but did not check it out for latency. I am sure it would be fine for the first part of the recording, hearing the bass AS you record. Then peeps often want to play back a track and add to it and this is where latency can be a bother but there are a few guys here with an i02, no doubt they will check in.