Audio Interfaces and Effects Pedals

ryanhaggart

Hi I'm a newb here and have no idea what I'm doing,
I've done some research into easy recording solutions so that I may record my electric guitar onto my computer without going broke or molesting my own ears with horrible sound quality.

The underlying issue is that I am unsure of whether or not I need an audio interface.

I was wondering, if I were to purchase something like a Korg Pandora Stomp, would I still need an audio interface? or could I potentially connect that directly to my computer and still get decent sound.

Thanks in advance and sorry if this is a stupid newb question.

PANDORA stomp | STOMP MULTI EFFECT PROCESSOR/TUNER | KORG - (Korg Pandora Stomp)

Hi Ryan and welcome.
In a word, yes. You need an Audio Interface ok, there are alternatives, some cheaper but basically you need a "box" that takes a guitar signal (and therefore should be a "High impedance aka, HZ input) and converts it to a digital signal via USB for the computer. But! and this part is often overlooked, you need same box to DECODE the USB digital signal from the PC and present it in a form that can drive headphones or, far better, some monitor speakers. Implicit in that output is some form of volume comtrol. All this two way conversion needs to be done at lighnening speed so that there is no discernible delay from string strike to you hearing the (possible "effected" sound) This latter quality is called "latency" . Part of the delay will be introduced by the computer itself but a much greater proportion is down to the interface and especially the "drivers" it is supplied with (Google "ASIO")

Phee-ew! What have you got so far? Guitar yes, got that! Amplifier? If so you should think about a microphone. The Shure SM57 is by far the most common mic pointed at guitar cabs but you can use almost any other sort (Google again. "SDCapacitor mic).