Which audio interface should I invest in?

Rachel Philipp

Hey everyone. I'm a music business student beginning to study audio engineering and putting together my own studio. I currently have a Behringer Xenyx 802 interface, but as I've learned more about audio interfaces, I think I need to invest in something better for greater sound quality.

I have a small budget right now - so something from $150 and below. I use Logic Pro X. I have a ShureSM58-X2u dynamic mic and two MXL condenser
mics that will need phantom power. I also record guitar and midi. (I currently use the interface that came with my Shure mic when I record vocals - but I also have XLR cables to connect the mic to a different interface.)

What interface do you guys think would give me the most professional sound for my situation? Thanks so much!

Hi there,
I think, in the price range, I'd just focus on functionality meeting your needs rather than quality.
What is the model of the interface you have? Does it have all the I/O you require?

If not, work out how many simultaneous mic inputs you're going to need and just shop with that in mind.

There's a stack of budget options out there from Tascam, Presonus, NI...Lots of companies.

If you're still looking for a practical way to improve sound quality within your budget, a great place to start is with the environment and instruments.
Those two things combined are the source and if the source is compromised you'll always be at a disadvantage.

What's your recording room like?

Last edited:
hah Since when is a crap game an investment ?

It is not clear to me that you can buy a better interface. And by that I mean, it seems they are just tacking on features as the price goes up. The xenyx preamps are long in the tooth, but they still represent the low-end state of the art.