Applying a soundfont/soundcanvas

offroadguy56

Hello.

I won't lie, I'm a complete amateur in regards to MIDI and other music related things. I do know the basics, I think. I hope.

What I'm trying to do is apply a soundfont or something to a MIDI sequencer I have. It's called Sekaiju. It's free and for the most part it gets the job done for the music I want to make. However because it's a freeware program it doesn't support any other MIDI other than the Microsoft GS Waveable Synth and the MIDI Mapper. Virtual MIDI cables also work with Sekaiju.

Which leads to the suggestion I received from a friend. He told me I should look into VST's. I could have a sequencer output to a virtual cable and a VST will listen on that and do whatever I need it. So I grabbed VST Host and some soundfont SF2 plugins. For the most part it does what I want it to. Except those SF2 plugins only apply 1 instrument at a time and whats worse is that single instrument is applied to every channel being output by the sequencer. That guitar? It's a banjo. That drumset? Also a banjo.

I need something that will change the output from my sequencer to a different instrument set. I really don't know what I'm looking for. I thought it was SF2 but if SF2 has a limitation that only allows 1 instrument then that wont do. Something that will change instrument #1 and #2 of my sequencer to instrument #1 and #2 of a custom instrument library (SF2 or DLS) for example.

If you need any other information let me know. Images or video, you name it.

Maybe someone familiar with your 'sequencer' can assist.

Why not use a DAW (like Reaper) where you can use separate tracks for each VSTi?

If Reaper is free.

The guy who recommended Sekaiju, my sequencer, also knew about the limitation of it. He told me if I wanted other instruments I would have to run the MIDI output through a VST with plugins.