Apollo Twin Thunderbolt with Lynx Hilo A/D converter

morosh

Hello everyone!
I'm thinking of buying a Lynx Hilo A/D Converter to beneffit from that amzing clear sound they have but I want to know if I can use it with My Apollo Twin Thunderbolt interface!
I'm sorry but I'm not very good at this things and maybe I;m a little ignorant but I need some help here!
How can I connect this two devices to work and to beneffit from the better A/D conversion of Lynx? How shoul I route the signal? What cables shoul I use, SPDIF, ADAT?
I will use it just for vocal recordings,one or two at a time in Pro Tools!
Can someone give me some help here?
Thank You!

It's not designed to be used with your interface, since it's supplanting the A/D and D/A roles that performs. The whole marketing message is that it's got these fantastic converters, so why would you put another set between it and the computer?

You can chuck the Apollo to the side, or perhaps trade it in for a nice microphone preamp or two if you don't already have those. Or, you could just relegate it [the Hilo] for playback if you wanted to keep the Apollo.

That's a crapload of dimes to spend on something like that - certainly out of the ballpark for many HRs I'd surmise, but for a great room with great speakers, e.g., like a mastering house might have, I wouldn't mind hearing it.

As Keith said, unless you had all your other elements in order the value of this would probably go unnoticed, apart from looking pretty.

To answer your question directly you would run this as part of your thunderbolt chain, the Apollo would have to go at the end unless you have 2 thunderbolt outs on your mac or pc and connect audio in or out as you see fit