Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Another Thread - Mic Only Playing through Right Ear

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Another Thread - Mic Only Playing through Right Ear

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I have a dilemma. I have everything, it sounds great, but any live sound, or recording, only plays through my right ear. I have tried audacity for recording as well as in windows.

    This is a put down because I was hoping to use it for live streams.

    MXL990
    Lexicon Alpha USB Interface
    Nady Phantom Power
    Windows 7 64 Bit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    46
    Posts
    15,244
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 153 Times in 126 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474856
    What are you listening through?
    PC Win7-64-16G i7-2600/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/KRK G2-8/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor/Lava Lamp/Big mean dog, cute little baby, CARBONITE!!!!

    http://www.stricklerstudio.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Grado SR60i's connected through a AMP/DAC combo to my PC.

    I tried to use it over Ventrilo to talk to people, as well as Skype (just for testing, Skype quality is disgusting). In both, it just picks up a low static sound and no voice what so ever.

    On another similar note, I tried out REAPER because it has a full trial version. In mono, the mic does the same thing that it does in Ventrilo and Skype. I have to set it to stereo in REAPER. Once I do that, it only records/plays in the right side. I can then click the MONO button down at the bottom in the MASTER thing, and adjust the the I/O tab to -10dB to the left to center the sound.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tallinn
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    914095
    Are you using XLR in on Lexicon? If yes then make sure you have the right input selected. It seems now in both cases (skype and reaper) that you have selected input 1 instead of input 2(XLR). Since there is nothing going into input 1 you get static noise, also explains why it records only to right channel (channel 2).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chicago area, probably looking for more coffee.
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    15297885
    In other words, you're trying to send a mono source to a stereo destination.

    Don't do that = No problem.
    John Scrip - MASSIVE Mastering

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3048807
    I did the same thing when I started out: mic recorded to stereo track = sound panned to one side = me feeling like an idiot when a senior member explained ...

    Don't feel like an idiot!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Seidy View Post
    Are you using XLR in on Lexicon? If yes then make sure you have the right input selected. It seems now in both cases (skype and reaper) that you have selected input 1 instead of input 2(XLR). Since there is nothing going into input 1 you get static noise, also explains why it records only to right channel (channel 2).
    I think I've lost you. I am using the Mic (XLR) in. There is only 1 XLR input. There is also no way to switch between inputs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    46
    Posts
    15,244
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 153 Times in 126 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474856
    Well, yes there is a way to switch between inputs. More importantly, make sure you are inputting/recording to a 'MONO' track. A two channel interface will typically be seen by a DAW, as having two inputs on a stereo track. Only one side would receive signal. A single 'mono' input source=mono track.
    PC Win7-64-16G i7-2600/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/KRK G2-8/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor/Lava Lamp/Big mean dog, cute little baby, CARBONITE!!!!

    http://www.stricklerstudio.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tallinn
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    914095
    Yeap, you just have to select correct channel in Reaper and XLR input seems to be channel 2.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    If I want to do live streams, how would I go about doing so? Is there something like Virtual Audio Cable, that can take a stereo input and mix it to mono, or even pan it like in Reaper? With it outputting in stereo, almost no software can pick it up.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Playing by ear
    By grh in forum Song Writing & Composition
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 01-15-2013, 09:07
  2. There has got to be a better way to loop things than playing it by ear...
    By mjm620 in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 16:48
  3. Delta 44 is only playing through one ear and I can't record
    By MicFlo in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 11:25
  4. Music Theory vs Playing by ear
    By I-AM in forum Singing & Vocals
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-07-2003, 18:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!