Analog Mixer to DAW

timothypberner

Hey guys,

So I'm just getting into home recording, I'm a newbie, so I'm sorta not sure about a lotta stuff.

Anyway, I'm hoping to buy the Samson 8Kit (Pack of drum microphones), for recording into Cubase. This afternoon my neighbour gave me his Yamaha EMX300 (12 Channel analog mixing desk). What I'd really like to do is have the drum mics going through the desk into Cubase, for recording, as well as being able to mix my tracks using the EMX300. (I hope that makes sense! If it didn't I'll explain further)

I'm not really sure how to do this though. I've heard about analog to digital converters, but I'm not really sure of how to use them. Do I need one? If so, what are some examples of them?

Also, the EMX300 doesn't appear to have separate outputs for each channel. Don't know if that's helpful or not, but there you go. If you want a picture of the input and output jacks I'm more than happy to get one up here.

Thank you so so much guys!!!
Timothy.

That mixer isn't going to help you record your drums. You need an interface with 8 inputs to get all 8 mics individually into Cubase. You would mix your recorded tracks inside Cubase so you don't need the hardware mixer for that either, just one stereo output on the interface to monitor what you're doing.

Hi guys, thanks so much for your replies. So, this mixer isn't going to be helpful for recording, however, what about a digital mixer? I'm planning on getting the Yamaha MG16XU digital mixing console - is it possible to rig this up to use record onto Cubase, or mix my tracks in Cubase?

A digital mixer such as the Presonus Live would do the trick, but it's probably more than you need.

Look for an audio interface that has eight mike inputs, such as Tascam US-1800 or Presonus Firepod