Advice: small recorder needed for study on African leopards and lions

Kasim21

Hi everyone,

I'm interested in attaching a small audio recorder to leopard and lion radiocollars and having them record continuously for 1 month.

Minimum specifications:

1. Would need to store 750 hours on audio and run on a single charge. Ideally, it would have a sampling frequency of 22kHz (but this isn't essential and battery life trumps sampling frequency).

2. Combined recorder and battery weight < 100 grams

3. Recorder and battery price < $200

Does anyone know of any recorders that fit the bill straight out of the box, or that could be modified by a newbie?

Complete newbie here and internet signal isn't great out in the African bush; so thanks in advance for your help.

Kas

Hi Kas, Ball park calc for one channel at 22kHz (16bits?) is about 6.5H per G so, 120G of storage? There are 128G SDC cards I am sure but might be out of budget! If it can encode straight to (crapish!) MP3 better by an order or so.

But you main problem I think will be power. That weight limit will not allow much battery capacity. Can you arrange for a solar "top up"?

Desert us not but there are some ex BBC guys at Sound On Sound | Recording Techniques | Audio Technology | Music Production | Computer Music | Video Media and they will surely have some wildlife recordist contacts.

Dave.

Hi Dave,

Great - thanks for the information.

I will head on over to SOS and post a message.

Yup, power is the main limitation right now. A previous study on chipmunks used a spy microphone (TS-Market: Professional miniature digital audio recorder Edic-mini Tiny B47) for their project which would also work here if there was a way to change the power input to something which would last 1 month. Solar would be a good option in the absence of a big enough battery - my only concern is robustness. The more components on the collar then the more that can go belly up.