Advice for an amateur

Selwyn369

Hello, I've been doing a rough recording for a band that I'm in. In all honesty I don't really know what I'm doing as I'm just a hobbyist but I'm learning more as I go on. I thought I'd come here for some opinions on what I have so far. Just tell me what's good, what's bad and generally what steps I could take to improve the recording.

I'll leave an mp3 recording and the reaper file I have been recording in and if any of you guys would like to offer some opinions it would be much appreciated.

Mp3 files:

REAPER files:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4383992/Tea is for Mugs Rough Drums.RPP
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4383992/We the Divided Rough Drums.RPP

the 2nd song has some terrible bass in the reaper file too :)
Apologies if I have posted in the wrong forum

Extra info:
External Sound Card: Komplete Audio 6
Guitar: ESP MH350FR
Guitar amp: just some free VSTi's I found online
Drums: Can't remember the name but you'll hear 'demo version' every now and then

MP3 Clinic section of the forum. Dropbox is not the way to do it - use soundcloud or some other means of streaming audio. No one is going to take a chance to download a file from someone they don't know.

MP3 Clinic section of the forum. Dropbox is not the way to do it - use soundcloud or some other means of streaming audio. No one is going to take a chance to download a file from someone they don't know.

Ahh fair enough. Here is one of the tracks I have so far on Soundcloud. There's no bass yet as it sounded terrible lol.
I think one thing I have noticed is my song seems very quiet compared to other songs but that might be normal at this stage perhaps. I guess I could just do some more research into recording guitar for a bit tonight before I start asking loads of dumb questions lol

https://soundcloud.com/selwyn369/we-the-divided-rough-demo

Not my type of music, but other than the snare, the drums are low/muddy, and the cymbals can't be heard.