Adapter for Microphone to iPhone

dkm13

Hi, I'm new to recording vocals and acoustic instruments and I don't have great equipment. I have this cable:

I have an XLR Female to 3.5mmm Mono Male Cable well as a Shure SM58 microphone. All I have to record with is GarageBand for the iPhone 6. I really need some sort of affordable cable/splitter/adapter that I can use to connect my mic to the phone. Is this possible at all? Are there any adapters that I can use for this purpose? Any help is hugely appreciated.

As you may be aware by now, that cable will not suffice to power your mic. I’m also pretty sure you need an extra sleeve for the iPhone.

The iRig Pre is what you need. Should power your mic just fine.

As you may be aware by now, that cable will not suffice to power your mic. I’m also pretty sure you need an extra sleeve for the iPhone.

The iRig Pre is what you need. Should power your mic just fine.
Maybe it's just terminology, but an SM58 doesn't need power, as in phantom power, so you might get away with something that simply takes the XLR to a 3.5mm mic-only plug and get it to work with that mic; i.e., the output of the SM58 is likely enough to be recorded.

But, the iRig, or something acting as an interface would be a more flexible choice, and have been designed for that purpose.

Maybe it's just terminology, but an SM58 doesn't need power, as in phantom power, so you might get away with something that simply takes the XLR to a 3.5mm mic-only plug and get it to work with that mic; i.e., the output of the SM58 is likely enough to be recorded.

But, the iRig, or something acting as an interface would be a more flexible choice, and have been designed for that purpose.

The connection won’t be right, and I don’t think the preamp on the iPhone is good enough. You’ll need the extra sleeve on the jack in order to use a mic for the iPhone. Conversely, you cannot take the connector for the iPhone and record on a computer.