adapter cables

musicteacher

I am not even experienced enough to be called a "newbie." I have been doing home recording (by my definition)since I graduated from college some 30 years ago. Based on what I read at this site, I have not begun to do home recording. Somehow, I think this simple-sounding question I am going to ask will end up be very complicated for me. Well, here goes.

I have had a music ministry to area nursing homes for 6 years, here in Virginia and also when we were stationed in Oklahoma. Part of my ministry is to do free recordings of my programs for senior residents and also for shut-ins from our church. I have been very satisfied with my recordings taped from my Denonet Karaoke machine to my JVC tape deck. However the JVC deck finally gave up the ghost (record button broke) and the new and better Sony deck we bought does not have two microphone holes like the JVC did. (I think the plugs they use are called quarter inch plugs.) My husband who knows as little as I do, bought an adapter cord (I think that's what it's called) at Radio Shack so we could plug one mic into the input plug at the back. (I think it uses an RCA pin plug.) I tried recording with this cord with one mic plugged in to the cord which splits into two plugs to plug into both channels of the back of the deck. I actually did get a recording, but the sound was muddy, not clear like I had gotten before. Also I had to have the record volume up to the maximum and the sound was still not very loud. And also, only one channel on the tape recorded.