$6,000 Studio Build (Buying Within Week)

Broth3rz

Within the next week I will be setting up a studio to finally get into what I love, TV, Film, & Game music composing! I've been trying to post on that GearSlutz website and they have been 99% non-helpful, worthless site. So I'm hoping this site will help!

I'm a newbie when it comes to media and I'm willing to learn, just need to help is all. Anyways, even though I am just starting I'd like to future proof some and I'd like gear that is between middle and high end. I do not want crap I will replace soon.

The computer I am buying is this build but with a 1080 Ti. So what I really need help choosing are speakers ($1,000), external audio interface ($800), a new 88 key keyboard ($1,000), and amazing headphones ($400).

I could wait on the headphones and apply that cash to better speakers? But I was told headphones are necessary because of the times you need to master and change EQ, reverb, etc. If I wait on headphones I could upgrade from the Adam A5 to the A7, unless there is something better in that price range?

1. From some research I've done I was going to go with the Adam A5X speakers, but then I was told I need a good subwoofer with those? Then I also hear Mackie is making great speakers. I don't know the specs to even go by when buying speakers, you know, what makes them good.
  2. I've heard a lot of good things about the Babyface Pro so I was going to snag one of those, but is it worth the $200-300 more to go PCI? I hear its better on latency. By latency I guess everyone means from the time I hit the keys on my keyboard to the time I see and hear that key / note on the PC?
  3. Headphones I don't know much about, I heard the HD650's are good and maybe the AKG brand?
  4. I have a Yamaha YPG-625 at the moment and its a good keyboard but I was wanting something newer that doesn't have to be a workstation but has good USB technology and such.