$3000 budget HELP!

sethlit

HI, first of all this is my first post so nice to meet ya all. Thanks for all of the great info here. okay,

MY setup is---PC pentium III 640MB,soundblaster live, cool edit pro, yamaha MG12/4 mixer with phantom, GT 55 (groove tubes) condenser mic without a preamp, 2 older dynamic mics (they sound okay not great), 3 pairs of headphones, computer speaks for monitors (but learned to get okay mix on them), and one main room (14'X12") with a smaller room attatched (6'x4').

Now here's my situation...I recently had a guy approach me about investing in $2000 to $3000 in my music and recording ventures. I am fairly new at the recording thing but an experienced musician. SO before I waste away that sorta money I NEED some advice from you guys.

My goal: to be able to record bands live and not track by track. Thanks ahead for any help!

seth

First advice, build a faster p4 computer. Then soundcard, if you need quality you definitely need a betetr soundcard than soundblaster stuff. Check teh M=Audio series for the one that fits your budget. Then monitors, computer speakers is not an option. Some good mics and you are set.
I am sure you'll get more advice from others too....Good Luck!

sethlit said:
I am fairly new at the recording thing

You could invest the money in new gear or you could just go to a reputable studio and be done with it.

Buying your own gear is most productive in that you can always record again and again as many times as you want. On the other hand, learning to make broadcast quality studio recordings could be a long and bumpy road if you don’t really have the knack for it. Is he willing to wait while you learn the ropes on his dime? Does he expect instant results?

Recording can be a little like cooking. Just because you have the right ingredients, doesn’t mean you can prepare a gourmet meal.

I don’t mean to insult your abilities. You may well excel at it. Anything seems easy to learn when you love what you are doing.