My first vid ,. Heavens door (knockin on)

dyermaker8

My friend and his dad, No tripod handy,. but worked out ok. Tracked live,.still trying to figure out the best way to mic up in this scenario, Since this one I've scored a second camera and a production assistant who brings another nice cam and a lighting rig to the game. Can't wait to do more,. Good times.

Last edited:
Video is cool, has that guerrilla marketing vibe. Sure it is a marketable service. youtube is HUGE and everyone wants to be a star. Yes!! You too can have your 15 minutes of fame!

Pretty much what I was thinking getting into this in the first place,. with the added bonus of doing something I enjoy and possible finding people with talent who might otherwise go unnoticed,.

I'm going to be a naysayer, but with good intent. A video like this wouldn't sell and if I was an artist, I wouldn't want my name on it. The song is boring and the one angle shot is boring. Nice effect with the 2nd shot on the back wall, but that gets old after 5 seconds. This is where videos get difficult; you've got to keep the viewer engaged.

Knocking on Heavens Door is an old tired song that drones on and everybody knows the words and the chords, which repeat often. They know there won't be any surprises or change ups. It'll just keep going with the same three chords and the same basic lyrics until the end. Then to have this song coupled to a video with one shot is a death nail.

If you're going to have a song like Knockin, then you have to have a video that sucks the viewer in and keeps them there until the song is over. You need a story!!! It doesn't have to be locked into the song, and probably in this case, it shouldn't be. But it has to be there: Beginning, middle, end. To me, that is the most difficult part of making a music video. You could use special effects and different angles, live shots, mixed in B-rolls, but storyline is king with video.