We did it, boys! A song with real drums...

Since I don't have any good ideas, I'll give you a couple of bad ones...

You could gate the snare with a very short hold time. It'll probably sound crappy. And by "probably" I mean "definitely." :)

There is also drum replacement software. I remember Drumagog back in the day. There are probably others. It would probably be better, but it would require some money.

You could do a couple of things, see if you can get the tracks from the drums, hopefully they aren't rendered into on file, and then try mixing all the channels and treat each channel as required.

I am still learning, but I usually take each track and group them so I have a final mix to send to the master (for volume control), but each track is treated as required and maybe but an overall compressor of the final drum group. Might help.

Wish I could help but I have never really recorded live drums so take my opinion for what its worth..... Not harping on it, but that snare has more issues than just reverb, at least from the standpoint of the system I am listening on. It sounds way muffled and too much attack. Maybe if you could just brighten it some, it would be better. If its all bounced to a stereo track that may be more difficult than said. On the other side of the coin, I think the kick, toms, and cymbals sound good.

You could use the snare track to trigger SD - it's really easy in Reaper without needing any other software.

You could use the snare track to trigger SD - it's really easy in Reaper without needing any other software.

If I were to do it in Reaper, I would other software :P

I'm going to try some of these ideas.

Bruthish, I know what you mean. The guy is a speed metal drummer so his whole setup has that really transient heavy sound to it.