Vocal Recording/Mixing Advice

StormsofVogue

Hello,

I'm struggling recording my vocals for an original song. I could really use a set of unbiased, experienced and honest ears:

I'm very new to all of this (I mostly play live). I think some of the issues are just my needing to improve as a vocalist (feel free to offer pointers on that subject), but I've listened to this thing so much that I can't really tell anymore what's me, what's bad use of eq/effects or who know what else.

My signal chain Shure Beta 87c --> Behringer X32 Rack --> Ableton Live. On the vocals I have two compressors (probably over compressed), eq and reverb (the vocoder is a second track run in parallel):

ScreenShot2014-12-16at93149PM_zps379b4b28.png

ScreenShot2014-12-16at93159PM_zpsbfc8444d.png

Any critiques or advice is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited:
For my tastes the sections with the vocoder/doubling going on are too much, but that's just my preference. Overall the mix sounded good, but I think you may have flattened out your vocal dynamics with compression too much. I try to avoid much compression on the my lead vocals unless I want to squash them, but instead I automate the track as needed to remove too-loud spots.

Yeah, so these vocals are pretty squashed, which is great in pop and lots of rock music. But this is a sparse song that would benefit from some of the natural dynamics. The tone of the vocal track is pretty flat and uninteresting. Is your EQ in between the first and second compressors? You've got a huge EQ boost in the 5k range, but I don't hear that brightness in the track at all. It makes me think that that the second compressor is squashing your boost right back down! Usually you want to use subtractive EQ before compressors, and additive after them.

I would allow some of the natural dynamics back in, and then automate for general dynamic fluctuations.