"Toss It All Behind" A tale of unrequited

I really like this song. The vocals reminded me of Bowie. Definitely preferred the second mix. The bass player is terrific! I prefer hear more bass, but that could be down to the fact that I'm a bassist. The drums have an 80s synth feel. I'm assuming they are MIDI. More variation and fills would help. I liked the horn but felt the outro could have ended sooner.

Jeff Maher used to haunt HR frequently. I've not seen or heard from him in quite a while though. He did a great job on the bass and on the electric rhythm guitar. Really stylized the tune.

When the kick comes up ... it and the bass don't play well together. The low end energy must be corralled accordingly.

Mix is good, seemed a tad bright to my ears. I agree with the the comment in regards to a little more bass. But I could understand not doing that as it may change the feel of the song.

The bright is the mastering plug, Dave. I even turned the high end down because I shared your suspicion that it was a bit too much. Thanks for the note!

Sounded pretty good.

Vocal is mostly very good. Nice and clear. Some of the notes that you really belt out get a little harsh. Harsh enough that it needs attention.

Drums sound fine. But just fine - your drums usually are more realistic. Kick is a smidge too loud to me.

Bass sounds real good.

I liked the piano. But I didn't care for the "trumpet".

The acoustic guitar is just a bit bright to me. Sounds compressed a bit much.

Except for the "trumpet" I thought the instrumentation was excellent.

Interestingly the thing I like least is the bass guitar - the style, sound and panning just don't do it for me. It has a "musco - white funk" feel to it that could fit in with Jan Hammer's 80s fusion. That's pretty much the same for the electric rhythm gtr.
Nice song; a more organic drum track would take it away from the 80s.