Tips & Tricks

Cajmiere

hi...i'm kind of new to this board...i would like to know if someone give me feedback on a song that i recently recorded...this isn't for a song review...i mainly just want to know what could be done better in the mixing stage in order to achieve a better end product...i'm pretty satisfied with how the chorus sounds...but the verse is where i'm kind of thrown off...it doesn't sound as "fat...or wide...or blend as well" as the chorus does...i'm using a very small amount of equipment...i have a Studio Project B1 mic...running to a M-Audio Firewire Solo (used as my soundcard)...and the rest is software...i have a great amount of plugins...yea but if anybody could help...it would be greatly appreciated as to i'm still learning new tricks

What It Is (Click Here)
^^^the song

Well I think your kick has a little too much "pop" in it. You might have to EQ it or just use a whole different kick all together. It should be deeper or perhaps a bassline (which it doesnt sound like you have) would compliment it. Your whole sound would be a lot fuller if you had a nice round low end, even if its just a constant E on the bass along with the kick.

i'm sorry...i should have explained a bit more...the beat isn't mine...i'm going to be making a beat for it...i just wanted to know about the vocal end of the recording if possible...but thanks for your comment

Vox are right on the money. Nice mixing, tone and effect (performance and lyrics are good too).

thank you to all of you...i really appreciate the feedback...i guess i'll just continue with what i'm doing...ummm...i'll be back to see what you think when i get the new beat put to the vocals

Tite

Nice groove...

'You aint gangsta boy - that's just not how you liiaaauuve"

The chorus is tight. Beat is trippin' me out. Who's your vocal producer?

i did everything myself here at home...i'm surprised that everybody thinks i have a lot of equipment...those vocals came from like...$300 worth of equipment