Thrash Metal with real instruments - let me know what you think

hollowmanpl

Hey.

Here's a track I've been working on. No samples, no ampsims. It's not perfect but let me know your opinion.

cheers!

Not bad dude. It's a little dark though. Could use some high/low pass filter. Try this free plug in and put it on every track. I love it. It's the greatest.

Brainworx | bx_cleansweep V2

Reminded me of Carcass at first.

Last edited:
Sounds good, its is a little cluttered in the low mid. A touch muddy.

I thought the instruments sounded good. I'm not an expert in the genre, but that sounded good to me. Great speed playing. Levels on the instruments seem pretty well balanced except the lead guitars were a little quiet.

The vocal was a little far back in the mix. Seemed to be missing a bit of the high end. Slightly muffled.

yeah, muddy mix. guitars have the right sound dialed in on the amps, but perhaps the guitar bus needs some eq tweaks -the problems seem to lay where there are lots of guitars going on with heavy chords. i don't know, that's where i would look first. things are a bit indistinct. makes for a decent demo i think, but def room for improvement IMO.

however, i'll add that it's nice to hear this kind of stuff in the clinic. i miss KSE- I think i'll pop them in my player on the way home from work.

ehh you've forced me to start the mix from the scratch :) or at least remaster it :)

You don't have to start from scratch. Never start from scratch. Just consider it taking steps towards improving it. How will you improve it if you keep starting over?

You don't have to start from scratch. Never start from scratch. Just consider it taking steps towards improving it. How will you improve it if you keep starting over?

Agreed. Only time I start over is if I upgraded a piece of equipment. This track can be worked on in the session. Do it again from the start and you may end up right back where you were.