Sylvia's Mother (Dr Hook cover)

chambie

Hey everyone. I recorded this old tune after hearing it recently on the radio. I wanted to get a "live raw feel" to it if that makes sense. I didn't do much to it, other than a touch of reverb. I would like your opinions and critique of the mix.

Thanks in advance !!

Last edited:
Well, more than a touch of reverb. I think you should post another version without the verb, might make it more natural. Maybe tighten up the harmonies a more, it is too loose. Bring up some of the lower end of the guitar for fullness.

I really think it would be much better with a lot less verb or none.

Thanks DM. I'll check the reverb level and check it without it. I agree the harmonies are loose, kind of the way i remember DR Hook harmonies, so thats what i was trying to catch. I'm pretty new to this all, and learning a ton on these forums. Thanks again for your input

Yeah, way too much reverb. The harmony is hurting, pitchwise, in a lot of places in the first verse, and in the 2nd verse they're not balanced well so the low part is a little buried.
I saw these guys live in the 70s, before they had their 'Cover of the Rolling Stone' hit.

Thanks MJ.. i saw them in the early 70's too. They were they warm up band for Sly and the Family Stone if you can picture that !! I took the reverb out and will post it to see the difference. I'll do some work on the harmonies when i get a chance. This was done in my living room…. no treatment of any sort. Kind of a spur of the moment deal.

Well, I love this tune, so kudos for even doing it.

But, what everyone is referring to as "harmonies" aren't even harmonies. They're just an octave apart, which isn't in the original. I'm not saying that's "wrong" if it's your own take on it, but it has nothing to do with Dr. Hook's version of the song.