Super early CONCEPT - Mystery Game Music

TheLurker

Yeah the title says it all... very little mixing/mastering has taken place and I have very little experience with MIDI. Anyways, this is meant to be game music for a mystery game that a friend is making... and this is one of my concepts I have for background music for the game. Any thoughts and feedback would be appreciated - I'll be updating this thread as I make progress!

Also, any advice on eq'ing/compressing midi? I can render the midi to wav... but I have never eq'd/compressed piano or strings... really I have only ever done guitar/bass/drums/vocal... Thanks for the feedback in advance guys!

Original: View attachment new-techno.mp3
New Mix: View attachment mystery-v2.mp3
TheLurker

Last edited:
Mystery as in, no one knows what it's going to be yet, or some kind of mystery-solving game? I guess I'm not familiar with the term.

Anyway, I've never used midi nor written game music, so I can't help you with the technical aspect nor am I necessarily an expert on anything. I do play a lot of video games though!

As sparse as it is, that probably makes sense for a game, and I can actually see this fitting in well with some sort of tense part of the story. I liked the drums and thought the quiet,splashy ride cymbal part (is it a ride?) could come up some, while the louder, steadier, almost shaker-like/high hat part was kind of loud. It was a cool surprise when the drums went into hyper drive there. I liked that, and it could work well in the context of a game.

I think you should add some more drone/pad/swell sounds that could come in when the drums kick in like that though. It's a little empty arrangement-wise in those sections given how much energy the drums are trying to create. Basically build up more of a contrast between the higher energy parts and the mellower bits. I guess that would be my advice at this point...such as it is! :)