Rate my mix

Angelapsis

I'm producing my band EP and It's my first time doing it, would you give me any advice on this mix? What sounds good, what sounds bad, clarity, mud, rumble, is it too much reverb, bad panning, too much volume on bass, drums, guitars, bad eq, bad comp?? I'm producing with a pair of sennheiser hd 558 headphonesView attachment Enemies.mp3

Were there supposed to be vocals? If so you should get them in there. That crash cymbal that rings non-stop during the heavy parts is really annoying. It's just a layer of noise that adds nothing musically.

still no vocals recorded just the backing track, do you mean it's very loud, or very harsh?

---------- Update ----------

there's the mp3, it's not uploaded as a stream :(

It is pointless to spend time worrying about mixing a song that has not yet been tracked. When you add the vocal, you will have to remix anyway.

I know but we needed the backing track for our promotion video :(

---------- Update ----------

what mics, pre-amps, interface, daw?

1. click track
2. add some upper mids to bass (just a touch). cut low end to remove mushy rumble.
3. bring kick down and sweep eq to remove basketball sound
4. bring snare up a touch
5. cymbals are washy, might be due to mp3. they sit pretty good.

Thank you! I'll follow these steps

what mics, pre-amps, interface, daw?

1. click track
2. add some upper mids to bass (just a touch). cut low end to remove mushy rumble.
3. bring kick down and sweep eq to remove basketball sound
4. bring snare up a touch
5. cymbals are washy, might be due to mp3. they sit pretty good.

I used REAPER, shure sm-57 for the guitar, no preamps, focusrite scarlett solo

For the first couple seconds I thought you were doing a Quite Riot cover. Doesn't sound bad, just sounds very distant. Kick doesn't sound like a part of the rest of the kit. Unless your going with a live sound I would edit out the guitar noise between chords when everything drops out.

no preamps