Opinions on these four songs... (acoustic indie/singer/songwriter type stuff)

I thought Old Patterns was an interesting song lyric wise about how we keep making the same mistakes. Very ambitious trying to sing that. I'm not sure I could and I've been singing for 30 years.;) Easy to get pichy with such a demanding song.

Didn't much care for the 2nd one.

Acoustic Book Club was cute with the references to Fitzgerald. You slipped into the choppy guitar changes of Old Patterns in that one. Old patterns never die, I guess.:D

Exes and Ohs is the best listen IMO because the guitar style is more varied. Nice change from the fingerpicking to the choppy chords and then back again. It's a bit long, and you don't make the point until 4:00 or so. Also a little pichy at that point.

You've got a lot of energy and it comes out in your choice of guitar arrangements. After you're done running, perhaps you might learn to walk.

You have talent. Keep writing.:)

Thanks a lot for the comments.

I actually wrote book club acoustic before old patterns but I hear what you're saying about the similar guitar parts. As for the lyrics, I literally just wrote them all down at work before I even had the music for them but yeah I guess it is a little ambitious. I'm well aware my voice isn't the best in the world, but I do the best with what I have :D

I thought exes and ohs might be a little long, thanks for pointing it out :D

After you're done running, perhaps you might learn to walk.
Not sure what you mean here, that I should simplify things perhaps?

sounds okay for what it is.

you may want to experiment with compression on the vocals.

the only thing that's popping out to me is the voice. you have this want to sound pretty, but i don't think that's what the style calls for.

try to sing without using so much air and using your head register.

just sing from your gut with a good umph into it. i'm thinking of a more tegan and sara sort of vocal.

thanks for commenting.