Is it ok to post Youtube links here?

cmorris975

Hi there,

I wanted to get some help with mixing the low end in my gear demos that are on Youtube. Can I link them directly or do I need to upload a WAV file to soundcloud?

Thanks,

Chris

85 views and no one said we couldn't, so here's a link. I'm mostly concerned with the low end in this guitar demo, bass and kick drum:

I am pretty new to mixing. I checked this recording against a reference track from the band Deftones ("My Own Summer") and it seemed to be somewhat close on my monitors and headphones. Having a really hard time getting a good bass guitar tone and balancing it with the rest of the mix.

Thanks all,

Chris

If you're looking for help on your mix, no problem posting a youtube clip here. If you are looking for help on music videos, we have a section strictly for that. If you just want to show-off, we have place for that, too... out back... behind the garbage cans. A little place called the Show-Off thread. Lol. :D

Yeah, I don't hear the bass too much. It sounds like another mix-done-by-the-guitar-player to me. (No vocals, either. Hmmm...) I suggest starting your mixing session with just kick and bass, get them working great and thumping. Add in snare, hihats and O/Hs. Get all that working great. Vocals would be a part of that but no vocals on this song.

Add in the rhythm guitars only in a supporting role. At a lower level than the bass and kick. This is where guit players get it wrong when mixing. Most can't take a step back and listen objectively without only hearing themselves. You get credit, you understood that it wasn't sounding like how you hear it in your head.

The way I look at it; Bass, Kick and Melody line (vocals or lead solo) make up the song and the rest of the tracks are there for support. If you add a lead solo in your mix, then it should be at a level slightly louder than everything else. Or maybe same level as bass and kick.

hth