New rough mix of a project I'm working on, costructive criticisms welcomed

Ryann_

Hey all,

I just posted a rough mix of a song off a demo I’m working on for a friend. I was hoping for some constructive criticisms, feedback, and advice. I’m new to recording and I know there is a wealth of knowledge here so any feedback is much appreciated.

The drums were only recorded with 4 mics, 57’s on the snare and 2 toms, and a beta 52a on the kick. At the time I couldn’t do overheads, that has since changed.

The bass was recorded using a beta 52a against the grill of an ampeg 8x10, a hartke 3500 head and a shitty ibanez bass.

Clean guitars were recorded with a line 6 hd147 head. Dirty guitars were recorded with a sovtek head both, through a vht cab, micd with a 57 and a rode nt1.

I’m not really into the distorted guitar tone, but my friend really wanted that type of tone for some reason.

All of this was done on a tascam 2488MKII
It is the first song on the player on this mypsace

www.myspace.com/apollosoundrecording

Thanks for reading and for any feedback!

-Ryan

Didn't care for the distorted guitar either. It sounded like two songs. I liked the beginning, but the snare bothered me for some reason. Maybe it's just too hot. If you lower the volume a little and send that track through the single effect of the 2488 at about 15% of the reverb in the chain it might help.

The next song started up and I thought the vocals were a little dry. You might try to give them a little delay and just when you can hear it, back off about 25 ms. HTH