New to mixing, need some advice...well, lots of advice.

SteveTaylor

Hey all, I'm really new to the forum and have been mixing without any third party input for a few months now and it's been driving me insane, I can never seem to get the mix I want. So I figured I a place like this would be great for feedback and advice, which I most desperately need :D

Anyway I'm working on a mix right now and have no idea how to get it to sound well rounded. If I cut the lows off of the rhythm guitar then the track seems bare, if I want to bring the melody guitar forward a bit it starts to sound horrible too. I'm driving myself insane since I'm really new to this and have no frame of reference other than studio mixed tracks, which is too high of a standard for me to have any idea what's going on in the mix.

Yeah, I'll shut up now and show you two mixes of the track I'm working on, since I can't even choose between my own mixes lol

Any advice on which is better and how to improve it? I'd really appreciate any input at all :P

Welcome to the forum Steve. You did come to the right place if you want straight up advice.

First thing I hear is an overall thinness to the mix. The cymbals are the most harsh IMO, but most of it is really bright and harsh in the upper frequencies.

The low end is quite weak below 80Hz. I think I hear bass guitar but it is not moving air.

Are you the guitar player or the keys player? I bet both. :)

First thing I would suggest is to talk about what your monitoring and room treatment situation is. I bet that is the biggest issue you have.

Great playing by the way! :D

Hey man, thanks for the reply :)