Need some listeners to my slow song

keem85

Hi there. I'm currently working on a home recording and I could need some advice. I'm fairly new to home recording but I need honesty and for people to give me constructive criticism :)

Thanks

-Kim R

Hey, this sounds pretty good. I am not a fan of the drums though. The guitars and vocals have plenty of life to 'em, but the drums sound kinda lifeless by comparison. Not horrible or anything, but with an arrnagment this sparse in places, the drums kind of stand out.

Piano sounds nice too, although the panning seems a bit odd - as if the keys stretched from one speaker to another and back again. Guitars sounded very nice. Vocals seemed well performed, but maybe overly dark? I dunno, I guess I'd look at shaving a little off the bottom end somewhere...good job. With real drums or more energetic samples, this could sound much fuller and better I think.

Wow... someone's listened to a LOT of Floyd!... This sounds very good - the sounds you've gotten are like a familiar warm blanket - very smooth & cosy - I really enjoyed it. I don't have any criticism - the mix is spot on & the performances are too. My only quibble is that the opening guitar lick is pretty much the exact same intervals that open "Shine On You Crazy Diamond", but without all the echo etc.
Overall, great job!

Thanks for your tips! I will have a look at the drums and make them more alive.. Thank you so much for your time! About the opening lick; I havent thought about that because I really didn't fetch any ideas from pink floyd, really! I actually made the opening lick in tune from my vocals to make them similar.. But I will actually switch it out now that you mention it.. I don't want to have anything that sounds like a rip off :)

-Kim R

Agree with Heatmiser about the drums, they could sound livelier.