Need an oppinion on the mix and master...

DarkArchAngel

Hi there!

This is my first attempt on pro mixing and mastering...

I would really appreciate your opinion on song I uploaded on SoundCloud...
I'm kind'a lost in the middle of the process right now...

What do you suggest should and could be done, to improve the overall sound? It's still demo sounding and
I would really like it to sound it as pro...

I'm in learning process and I would really like to learn how to mix and master music on a decent level.
so I'll be happy of any suggestions...

Progressive instrumental metalcore genre.
Here's the link:

https://soundcloud.com/user-911555486/reality-check/s-rYsrN

Uploaded 192 kbit/s mp3.

Thanx for your time, appreciate it.

Regards!

Last edited:
The best place here to have your work critiqued is the MP3 Clinic, so I'd resubmit the thread there.

And don't forget to read the rules ....

Timbo

Uploaded 192 kbit/s mp3.

No need to compress to .mp3 before uploading. Upload a .wav file and let Soundcloud do the compression. Otherwise you're compressing an already compressed file causing unnecessary degradation of the audio quality.

When you post in the Mp3 Clinic upload an .mp3 directly to this site rather than linking to Soundcloud.

No need to re-post. I'll move it now. :)

Sounds damn good man. Unfortunately I am having foundation repairs to my studio so I am crammed in a little 7x8' isolation room with my gear so can't trust what I am hearing as far as balance of frequencies.

Last edited:
Good tight guitar playing.

The guitars are over driven and don't have much punch tho. They're one constant level.

I could use a little more low end from the bass.

Lead guitar was well played and sounded pretty good.

And yeah, I think if you upload a wav you won't get those swirly cymbals that you have.

Yeah, swishy, double-compressed cymbals are really killing it for me.