mixing

dadex78

Dear all,

I am a homerecording newbie and I am trying some recordings of voice-guitar-cello band.
I would appreciate your opinion about my job: how can I improve?
Please find below link to one of the mixed songs:
soundcloud.com/dadex78/meriti7-w

I used track equalizers, reverbs and compressors in Nuendo.
Then I mixed the mixdown in Waves: lowpass filter at 60Hz, LinMB and L2.

After using L2 I found that there are some distortions, the wave has some cuts where volume is louder... where is the mistake? bad equalizing? bad compressing?
Thanks in advance to everyone!

I can't listen (work) but first, I'd ask you how hot your tracking.
I shoot for headroom. Keep your average level at around -18 up to -12 with peaks up to -6. If you're "just below clipping", you're too hot. Keep in mind, I'm talking tracking here, not mixing or mastering.

A way I was taught (thru some fine fellers here) was to keep my faders at unity all across the board and bring my trim (input gain) up to to the desired levels. This also makes for faster mixing.

Just some thoughts...

I didn't listen as well since you stated the source peaks have flat lines. That is going to cause most likely cause it to sound bad. You can't or very hard to fix source. One item to suggest as dog indicated, don't let your line levels be a concern other than getting a clean sound. If they are low but getting a full recording, you will push it up later through compressors, gain and limiters for the down mix. Source needs to be as clean as possible, if you want to clip, do that as a part of the mix.

Remember, if the source is bad, then you are going to have a hell of a time fixing it, if at all. Good clean tracking signals, worry about how loud it is later.

I don't think it sounds too bad personally. I couldn't understand a word but the song sounds pretty decent. Performances are good.