Metal core song needs mixing!

aklugger

hey guys check this out. this is my first attempt at recording metal, looking for anyone who would want to help me with the mixing and mastering process. Constructive feedback is much appreciated from everyone -=) enjoy.

the plugins used are addictive drums and amplitube and this was done in garageband.

Attachments

• DEMISEDGATESPERFECT!.mp3
    8.9 MB · Views: 111
Right off the bat, cymbals are way to loud, especially hi-hat. Bass drum is a touch too low. Also try to add more dynamics to your drums. I know they are programmed, but you can make them sound less so by changing the velocity on hits.

I would tend to agree with NotDannyW. Good first attempt, however you dynamics will make it sound alot more natural. The loudness of certain elements is easily
fixed, but the dynamics you need to work on.

A touch of reverb to the snare will help it sound more natural and a little *and i mean a little, amount of reverb over the drum track will make them sound a little larger as well.

Mitch
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Owner / Head Engineer
Jonestown Audio

yea for sure

yea i deff agree with you guys, the drums were done in logic and when i did this song i didnt know how to import individual layers of drums only as a hole. i have learned since then so i can make drums sound much better now that i can manipulate the kick/snare/etc independently . thanx for the advice. I ended up outsourcing the mix and mastering of this song to distrophonix i will post the mastered version when i get it back this week.

You sent it for mixing at this stage? There's a fair bit to be done pre mastering to get your money's worth.
You need to fix the drums, the bass needs definition, the guitars are mostly fizz with no meat and there's no melodic element to give a focus to the piece.

Just a couple of tips for high gain guitars...