Instrumental rock mix - feedback appreciated! (Satriani-esq stuff)

DrewPeterson7

Sage of the Order
Ok, this is a project I've been working on FOREVER (literally - I've been tracking on and off since mid-2010, and the oldest songs were written and demo'd back in 2001 or so) that I wrapped up recording and sequencing drums a couple months ago and have finally gotten the mixes to the point where I'm comfortable showing them to people for feedback.

I'm posting this one because it's got a pretty good mix of different elements, so if there's a problem with something in this mix there's probably going to be a similar problem elsewhere because it's got a bit of everything - heavy guitars, muted and unmuted sections, acoustic rhythms, some background harmony stuff, etc.

[MP3]http://www.drewpeterson.org/04_Red_Skies.mp3[/MP3]

Any feedback appreciated - thanks in advance!

EDIT - updated mix, with a bit more from the high end bass track in the mix. Better?

[mp3]http://www.drewpeterson.org/Reaper.mp3[/mp3]

Last edited:
Sounds very good. The drums sound very acceptable for being sequenced, nice guitar tones and playing. Maybe a bit light in the bass, I feel a bottom end but I don't hear a bass distinctly. Acoustics sound nice when they come in. How did you record guitar? mic'd up or amp sim? Real nice thick tone but not cheesy. I likey. Good job.

Strat

Thanks man - especially on the bass, as I've been struggling to get the right balance. The guitars are all real - my Mesa Roadster, quad-tracked (2x Schecter C7 Blackjack with a JB, through a Recto 2x12, and 2x Suhr Modern 7 with a 7+ bridge, into a 4x12, with the Suhr really driving the mix. The cab change was because I sold the 2x12 for a 4x12 while working on this. :laughings:) Ch4 Modern on the rhythms, and the leads were a Warmoth partscaster with a PAF Pro/Fred set through 3 Vintage and the 4x12, mic'd with a single SM57.