I need some feedback on my amateur mixing.

Woutahh

Hey guys, im a home studio bedroom recorder and I need some feedback on my mix. Its an old song I wrote with an old band of mine. Since im recording from home ive used bias fx for guitars and bass and ezdrummer 2 for drums. I use cubase artist 9 as my daw. Im still a beginner at mixing and need some good tips.

Attachments

• Wake-up-with-a-girl.mp3
    7.8 MB · Views: 21
I thought the clean lead guitars in the quieter sections sounded nice. They played well off of each other.

The louder sections with the distorted guitar got a little cluttered. The distorted rhythm guitar dominated everything else. The lead-ish guitar line got covered up. The distorted guitar was a little bit on the brittle side. It had a digital/amp-sim tone to it. The timing in the pre-chorus seemed off here and there.

Bass sound was OK. A little cold/sterile sounding. Could use some low midrange.

Overall energy was very good on this.

Hey, thanks for your reply! I quad tracked the rhytm guitars here which I normally dont do and mightve been a mistake :facepalm: but hey thats how you learn. I figured that often I mix the guitars too loud, I think thats a common guitarist problem? but hearing it from someone else that its dominating everything helps. I always have trouble with getting a good bass tone, it often ends up very boomy in the sub and when I try to listen to it on cheap speakers with a subwoofer it blows everything up. What did you think about the drums though? I did some snare and kick eq and parallel compression and reverb.

You probably need to back of the compressors a bit. The heavy parts are pumping

Plus, I assume you're adding vocals at some point? It's gonna be a lot harder to get vocals to sit coherently in a pre-squashed mix.

You probably need to back of the compressors a bit. The heavy parts are pumping