Found Sound Electronic Music

Birdie07

Hi! I'm a 19-year-old music producer from India currently based in Chicago. Recently, I started a personal project where I solely rely on found sounds and collaborate with traditional instrumentalists to create a beat. The first iteration of this project features a multitude of sounds ranging from the great Chicago winds to the things on my very messy table, all tied down by the slick bass work of my friend. I would really appreciate any kind of constructive criticism and any advice of how to take this project further. Thank you!

That's pretty cool. Like a vaporwave version of Abstinence.

I assume you're not really looking for mix advice since you've already got it set to a video?

That's pretty cool. Like a vaporwave version of Abstinence.

I assume you're not really looking for mix advice since you've already got it set to a video?

Hey! I'm always looking for mix advice! I like to finish things and then get mix advice so that I can apply them to my next project. So fire away man! I'd really appreciate it! I really haven't mixed this kind of thing before so any insight would be super helpful!

That was somewhat of a bluff as nothing really stuck out as needing fixing in the mix. :D

Maybe the "snare" sound in the early part of the mix is a bit dark?

I thought this was pretty good too. I thought the bass was a little boomy and muddy at times. I might play around with some notch cuts around 80hz or so and in the 300hz - 330hz range.

The slow closing gate stuff was cool. Maybe a bit overdone. But pretty cool.

I thought this was pretty good too. I thought the bass was a little boomy and muddy at times. I might play around with some notch cuts around 80hz or so and in the 300hz - 330hz range.

The slow closing gate stuff was cool. Maybe a bit overdone. But pretty cool.