First time mixing with vocals

zipline7020

So this is my first time mixing with vocals, I have both a scream as well as high rock vocals in it.

I seem to have a lot of trouble making the vocals sound forward enough, but I think that could be due to the concrete industrial style of my apartment, and the echoes there of.

Anyway, if theres any tips on compression, eq, mastering, etc, I would appreciate it!

Attachments

• First Full Demo Voice.mp3
    791.9 KB · Views: 25
btw, can someone explain to me why when I uploaded it on here, and redownloaded it, the guitars were suddenly louder than they are on the original?

That might be a side effect of turning it into an MP3. It's lossy and may lose some detail, making especially the highs and lows less audible and thus making the guitars and the whole midsection sound like it was thrown through a maximizer.

The growls are muddy - maybe scoop out some mids and they definitely need to be more low and compressed. There also seems to be too much reverb on the growls.
The screams are off pitch and should be higher?

Missing a lot of bass in your mix, overall.

That might be a side effect of turning it into an MP3. It's lossy and may lose some detail, making especially the highs and lows less audible and thus making the guitars and the whole midsection sound like it was thrown through a maximizer.

Yeah exactly, and considering the file size is only 798kb it's probably a low bitrate mp3 like 128k or so.
If doing MP3, OP, use 320k

Im using a 332k conversion. But it is a free program, so theres no telling if thats true.

And really? I thought the bass was almost too loud. I guess it has to do with my room again, I need to fabricate some paneling soon.

Guitars sounded good to me, drums too, but I would probably have to hear a longer clip to get a better idea. I honestly couldn't even pick out the bass, but i'm using some crappy ear buds at work.