First stab at mixing - Metalcore rough mix

Omniwang

Hey, all!

I've been recording crappy songs for a few years now but finally decided to try using a real program to mix a song with. I downloaded the 60 day trial of Reaper and I am definitely going to buy it. I wanted to post up the rough mix of my a song I'm working on. I've been playing with this for about a week but and shown a few friends but I could use some objective feedback.

I recorded guitars clean and used Line 6 Pod Farm 2 VSTs for tone. I have lead on the left at 100% and 70%, rhythm on the right at 100% and 70% as well. I've never used an EQ before but I set a low shelf at 350, high at 15000 and some mids at 750. Bass is pretty much a straight recording, I haven't done anything to it aside from bumping the volume up to be more audible. I think I may need to try a compressor on the bass during the breakdown as it gets a little dynamic or maybe I'll just re-record that part.

No drums or vocals yet, sorry I know that'll take away from some feedback.

Let me know what you think guys!

https://soundcloud.com/omniwang

I liked it. Reminds me of Reign in Blood a bit.
A few notes around 2:50-2:55 sound flat.

It has a lot of potential. Good playing. The tone of the main guitar sounds really DI. If your only going to record direct try to find a good cabinet sim, it may take some of the DI sound out.

Don't know what your plans are for drums, but if your not a drummer and don't have someone to record them, I would recommend Addictive Drums 2. Easy to work with, tons of sounds and beats.

Thanks very much for listening you two!

I'm afraid I don't know what DI means though. Could you please elaborate so I can better attack the solution in the mix?

I think the flat notes sounds are coming from the solo in the bends, it's entirely possible I wasn't bending quite enough. I will take a listen through again when I'm at my computer.