First post, would love some criticism on my mix (all tracks recorded by me)

omonoiatis9

Hey guys, newbie here. I recently heard a mix from a professional that sounded great so I started getting into this thing. I imported his mix in my DAW, and started tracking everything myself from scratch (drums programmed with superior drummer 2 however) trying to get as close as possible to the mix. Needless to say I'm probably light years away from that, so there's no reason to make a comparison. I'll just post my mix and would be nice to receive some criticism since I think that's the best way for anyone to improve.

Here it is

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
I don't like this kind of music at all. That said, I couldn't pick out any faults in the mix.

Strongly agree with Kindafishy. Good mix, and it's definitely not someone just getting into it.
I like everything but the cymbals. Sounds more washy than "tingy." Like lacking some attack.

Thanks a lot guys. Honestly I haven't been at this for a while but that sounds like a great compliment and it's motivation for me to keep practising. This is the 4th mix I've ever worked on. The 3 others being my band's demo which I did a year ago, and I don't think they sounded great. I did spend a lot of time looking things/tutorials/terms up on the internet and a bunch of forums during that gap however. My account is old as fuck because apparently I made one 6 years ago (didn't even remember, figured out when I tried registering yesterday and it said the username was taken) asking a newbie question about Nuendo.

Sammydix, thanks for the criticism on the cymbals, I'll keep that in mind and try to work on them.

Also here's a few things I think about my mix, in case someone has something to add to that: