Thread: FIRE FLIES - mix help (Stoner, Grunge, Metal)

Thanks

FIRE FLIES - mix help (Stoner, Grunge, Metal)

Sign in to disable this ad
    Been workin on this track for awhile, trying to dial up the right tones and all that.
    Haven't quite got to where I want to be yet, but while mucking around with this stuff I feel like I lost some of the original energy.
    How does this happen from EQ changes ?

Critique, thoughts or ideas on any aspect of the track and/or the mix welcome

[url=https://www.reverbnation.com/wristlock/song/28239020-fire-flies]FIRE FLIES by WrisTLocK

Tweaked the mix some:

Last edited by BCF1; 2 Weeks Ago at 08:55.

Thanks

Thanks
    Hi there,

I am far from an expert, but I will give you my mix critique:

- I find the mix too bright - the low end is missing. I would try looking at either the instrument buss EQ or the mix level of kick and bass.
    - Similarly, the guitar tone is quite good but could do with some more low end - like 200-800Hz. I would try some broad EQ bumps in the low end.
    - The cymbals seem too present to me - I would look at backing off the OHs in the mix or compressing them a touch more
    - I find the drums are missing some energy. I would try clipping the snare and tom drums with JST Clip, TRacks Classic clipper or L1 or L2 from Waves. Also try more parallel compression. You can also try adding some tape or other saturation to the snare.
    - I would also try to Waves Neve or Slate Virtual Console on the drums to give more energy.
    - For the bass, I would try also adding some more energy and excitement - like RBass, Max Bass or some parallel bass tracks treating each separately.

That said, it is a good mix. Some of my mixes are not at this level and have similar issues. I also am not sure what plugins you have access to.

Hope this helps.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to jonlint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by jonlint View Post
    Hi there,