Drum mp3 suggestions

astoebe

Hey, my newly formed band just started making a demo. This is my first time trying to get a quality drum sound, so I would really like some suggestions on how to make this better. I have a clip of the drums with an acoustic guitar below...any suggestions would be appreciated!

andrew

http://people.clemson.edu/~astoebe/drums.html

edit: sorry, i forgot...here is how I am micing

- 2 MXL 991's in xy overhead
- old shure mic on the snare (i chose it because it's very bright)
- MXL 990 in the kick (i'm aware this isn't a good choice)

I know that I'm not going to get superb results with my mic selection, but I'm young and poor so that's all I have right now.....one day i'll have a good job and get nicer stuff.

so pretty much any suggestions to make it better (please don't suggest new equipment because that's not possible for me right now)

Last edited:
Can you tell us how you recorded the drums ? Mics, placements, etc.

Without that info, here is a stab at it:

The snare is a bit woofy in my opinion. Less meat and more crack. Probably mildly pulling down the frequencies centered around 125-250 and mildly pulling up the frequencies around 6-8KHz.

The kick seems also a bit woofy but that is ok for a kick. But to round it out, find where the "click" of the beater is and pulling it up EQ might help give it more "bip".

Some stereo imaging would help.

I really like the hi hat sound you are getting. Sounds nice, full and crisp. Are those by any chance 14 inch Zildjian Quick Beats hats ?

Sush

thanks for the help....no, the high hats are just Sabian B8 pros

oh also, i have the overheads panned some, you think i should pan more?