"Don't Sleep Your Life Through" - Serendipity

K-dub

... and now for something completely different.

Still bass and guitar to add (along w/ other stuff that may pop in my head).

This one has a little serendipity attached ... and comes w/ a story. I bought X3 (Sonar) last weekend -- and this is the second song I started work on. I was thinking of working on this one ... but really was just fooling w/ the stuff to see what came w/ the new toy. So Addictive Drums is included w/ the download ... and I started playing w/ the midi patterns that came included in the program.

I selected one entitled "Pop Song" ... and because I was thinking about doing this tune, I just started playing along w/ the midi drum pattern ... and every time the song changed a section -- the damn drummer kept right up -- the random pattern I selected fit absolutely perfectly. I said, "Holy Shit. I can't believe that just happened."

So I played around w/ it yesterday -- sort of trying this and that out -- but then went back today and put some earnest effort into it.

This is what serendipity delivered. Hope you like what I've got so far.

As always ... any/all comments are warmly appreciated.

Kev-

Very nice song, touching. The vocal almost has a Marty Balin quality at times. I mean that as a compliment.

I'm not sure the drum pattern is gelling all the time, particularly in the intro and into the first verse. After about halfway through the 1st verse things mesh much better, then a repeat of the intro later it goes out again. I like what it's trying to do, playing outside the beat or whatever, but it's not quite there yet, imo.

The mix sounds good to my ears, although somewhat wooden and listening on computer speakers.

Nice work man, I always like your stuff.

Yeah ... someone else thought the drums might be a little too "busy" -- and I get that. I'd already modified some of the beats in rough patches where they didn't "quite fit".