Christmas Project Song - First Song Posting...

PoeticIntensity

MagicJones.com (is a website)
So I'm biting the bullet and finally posting one of my babies. I didn't write the song, but I recorded, mixed, and mastered it. It's a tune about the journey of the shepherds toward Bethlehem.

It's my first attempt at Mid/Side recording of acoustic guitar, and definitely the first time I've ever tried to record anything like this before. As you'll see, it's quite eclectic. It's a part of a theme-based Christmas album me and a friend are producing to give away as gifts this year.

Have at it, and thanks in advance for taking the time to listen and critique.

pretty cool. Just a couple comments:

1) the low note of the guitar kind of sounds like a harpsichord. Are you picking really close to the bridge?

2) The lead vocals hanging out on the right is a bit distracting. I'd stick those in the center and make the choir wider.

pretty cool. Just a couple comments:

1) the low note of the guitar kind of sounds like a harpsichord. Are you picking really close to the bridge?

2) The lead vocals hanging out on the right is a bit distracting. I'd stick those in the center and make the choir wider.

1. Yeah... That low note stands out like a sore thumb, especially since it's played so much repetitively. I've gotta keep working on that. I'm not the guitarist, and I wasn't watching him play, so I don't know how he was playing it.

2. Agreed. The lead vocals were supposed to be a bit deeper in the mix. Sort of mixed with the choir in a left / right config, but I think you may be right. Setting up a center vocal with wide choir would sound better.

Thanks for your reply!

I agree with the vocal comments. Big choir, centered vocals would be better.

I think the acoustic guitar sounds great. I don't know anything about acoustics, but it sounds good to me. That low note doesn't bother me.