"Burning Time" New Recording

JohnnyAmato

Spent Thursday and Friday tracking this tune I wrote a few months ago. Lyrics are about 3/4 done, so yep, yet another tune added to the "need to do the vocals for" list. Think I'm up to 6 of them at this point :facepalm:

Anyhow, spent most of tonight mixing it, and I'm really struggling with the bass. It just keeps poking out it seems. I'm already compressing it pretty hard, 10:1 with about 10db of GR. It's a 2006 USA P-Bass, and the A string always seems to poke through more than the low E string for some reason.

There's also a soft 2:1 compression before a limiter on the master bus.

And since there's been all this talk about tone going on lately, I also wanted to see what anyone thought of the rhythm tones here. I recently read some stuff on Green Day and Billie Jo sometimes layers 3 or four distorted guitars for his rhythms, so I wanted to try it. I also used some new tones from my board that I've never used before in a recording. (Digitech GNX3000)

Here's the layout:
(levels are the same on all four rhythm tracks)

Hard Left - DigiCrunch w/ Vintage 4/12s
40% left - Marshall JCM 900 w/ Vintage 4/12s
Hard Right - DigiCrunch w/ British 4/12s
40% Right - Marshall 900 w/ Vintage 4/12s and an 800 w/ British 4/12s warped together 70/30

DigiCrunch is just Digitech's own exclusive crunch sound/head.

All four rhythms were played with my 2003 G&L Strat with a Screamin' Demon mini humbucker and maple fingerboard, it's a really bright and punchy guitar. The few melodies/fills/leads were played with a 2001 USA Strat with EMGs. (the David Gilmore artist series set-up)
Both killer guitars, but very different.

Burning Time (Demo) | Johnny Amato

Last edited:
Just listened to it myself for the first time outside of the studio, on my upstairs laptop with headphones. Seems the bass isn't as bad as I originally thought, maybe.

Need to lay off the crashes from 2:18 to 2:28 and go back to the open hats.