Avoid The Silence (metal)

MetalsTheLaw

Hello everyone.
After about a three year musical hiatus, I've decided it was time for me to get back into it. This is my first attempt with my new gear and software. Let me know what you all think. Thanks in advance!

Updated link:

https://soundcloud.com/the-jericho-saga/avoid-the-silence

Last edited:
I'm not a metal expert buy any means but here's what I hear. There's not many issues at all but I think the vocals could come up a bit in the mix. They're a little too buried for me. I like the low end but I also think the bass could come up in level a bit. What did you use to for the drums..........especially the cymbals? They sort of sound strange.

Having said that...........I think you've got a pretty good mix going there so far.

Thanks Mickster,
The drums (downloaded loops) are my biggest issue at the moment. My 12 year old son just started drum lessons, so hopefully in a few years I can use his talent.. ;) But seriously, if and when funds become available, I will hopefully be able to do something about proper drum samples.

I thought the guitars sounded very good. Maybe a bit too loud.

The bass is a little too low end heavy, and maybe a bit too loud as well.

The vocals, alternatively, and a bit soft. And they have way too much reverb on them.

The kick sound was ok to me. The snare had too much click and not enough power. The cymbals sounded like they were going through a gate. Not much decay on them.

The song had great energy. The performances were tight too.

The distortion on the bass was a neat idea.

Andrushkiwt: Thanks. I have done some comparison shopping and Superior Drummer is on the top of my list.

TripleM: Thank you very much for the extra set of ears. I kept thinking the vocals were too loud but even friends are with you on that point. When I eventually re-do the drums, I will adjust the bass and vox levels, as I also notice the bass a bit "boomy".